Driven by a passion for automobiles, Peugeot has always nourished the spirit of competition. In the early days of motor sports and to this day, its many victories play a role in the commercial success of its vehicles.


Peugeot wins the world’s 1ˢᵗ timed race


During the Paris-Bordeaux-Paris rally, Peugeot’s Type 7 is crowned winner, all 3 participating Peugeots are ranked in the first 4 places. Michelin becomes involved in this victory by equipping Peugeot with the first-ever inflatable tyres.


The L76 wins the Dieppe and Indianapolis Grand Prix


The revolutionary L76 series (and its variations) win the 1912-1913 French Grand Prix and Indianapolis 500, USA ones in 1913, 1916 and 1919.


Victory for the 402 Darl’mat in the 2L category in Le Mans


The 302 and 402 Darl’mat are distinguished in the Le Mans 24 Hours Race. In 1938, the DE CORTANZE-CONTET team is 5th overall and 1st in the 2L category.


Victory for the 404 in the East African Safari Rally


In the East African Safari Rally, the PEUGEOT 404 wins first place overall 5 times and 4 other firsts in its category (1963, 1966, 1967, 1968).


5 victories for the 504 hatchback


The PEUGEOT 504 hatchback and the coupé 504 V6 win the Bandama Rally and the Moroccan Rally twice (1975, 1976) as well as the Safari Rally and Rallye Côte d'Ivoire in 1978.


The 205 T16 is world rally champion.


With Jean TODT as a team manager, the 205 turbo 16 shows its breath-taking velocity, makes a string of wins (constructor and driver world champions) and becomes a myth.


The 205 T16 wins the Paris-Dakar twice


Its successes inspired the general public and 205 sales soared, helping Peugeot ride the economic storm.


The 405 T16 piloted by Ari Vatanen sets a new record


In the wake of two victories and new records at the Pike Peak Rally, the 405 T16 wins the 1989 and 1990 Paris-Dakar.


The 905 devours the track


The 905 earns 3 victories in 1990 and 5 in 1992, including the Le Mans 24 Hours and becomes world champion. 1993 marks the year of consecration with a historical triple win in Le Mans for the 905, which earns 3 places on the podium.


908 1ˢᵗ in Spa (Belgium), Road Atlanta (USA)


The 908 Turbo Diesel PF excels in endurance races: 2nd in 2007 and 2008 in the Le Mans 24 Hours.


The 908 achieves a double win in 2009, is ranked 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th in 2011, and wins the Le Mans Series.


PEUGEOT signs a new record at Pikes Peak

Peugeot shattered the Pikes Peak record with the 208 T16 Pikes Peak and Sébastien LOEB, nine-times WRC champion. A historical time of 8:13.878, as yet unequalled.


PEUGEOT make their comeback in Rally Raid

Following a first race in South America for the Dakar, Stéphane PETERHANSEL and Cyril DESPRES sign a 1-2 finish in the Peugeot 2008 DKR in the China Silk Road Rally.


208 WRX, World Rallycross Champion


Team Hansen-Peugeot, FIA World RX team champions.


2008 DKR, on the path towards more victories in Rally Raid

Only one year after their return to Rally Raid, PEUGEOT wins the Dakar Rally with the most successful ever team in this event, PETERHANSEL / COTTRET. And just 6 months later, their teammates Cyril DESPRES / David CASTERA win the Silk Way Rally between Moscow and Beijing.


Sébastien LOEB to represent PEUGEOT

After a remarked first participation in the Dakar with Team PEUGEOT Total (4 stage wins), Sébastien LOEB joins Team Hansen-Peugeot in Rallycross the same year. PEUGEOT becomes vice-world constructor’s champion in the 208 WRX.


Year of the 3008

A 1-2-3 finish for PEUGEOT in the Dakar for

  • Stéphane PETERHANSEL (1st),
  • Sébastien LOEB (2nd) and
  • Cyril DESPRES (3rd)

in the 3008 DKR. The same year, the PEUGEOT 3008 SUV production model is named Car of the Year.